Introduction to my Rediscovered Boldness

January 6, 2016

Hello all. I’ve decided to start this blog so that I may have a place to share my thoughts and opinions and other things with the public. My main intention with this blog is to make it my place to share devotions, rant about society (in the most loving of ways), and post things that can later become my benchmarks for my walk with Christ.

I’ve become very distant from the Lord lately, which appears to be a surprise to many because I’ve been doing all of the right things. I’ve been going to church every Wednesday and Sunday, involving myself in biweekly bible studies, listening to worship music, tweeting random verses, and almost everything else that passionate millennial followers of Christ do. I was fooling everyone, and was even fooling myself.

It wasn’t until 5 O’clock on Monday, January 4th that I realized I had been fooling myself and everyone else in my life for months. I was driving back to Tallahassee, mentally preparing myself to move back into my dorm when the song “Children of Light” from the Passion 2013 album came on. I was singing and smiling and raising my hands when I realized that it was an elaborate act. Raising my hands and smiling and lifting my voice just became something I did because it’s what everyone else did, not something I was through my worship.

It finally dawned on me that I had been living in this lie for months now. Everyone I knew had this image of me as the “goody-goody Christian” or the “unashamed, sold out, follower of Christ” when deep down I knew that it was all just an act. Sure I was going to church and Bible studies and saying all the right things and doing all the right things, but I wasn’t growing. I was stagnant.

I had the Gospel glaze, where I became numb to preachings and verses and songs and I acted a certain way because it’s just what I was used to, not something I did as an offering to Christ. Thankfully that glaze has been removed, and I couldn’t be happier! So once again I am in fact sold out and bold in my relationship with Christ, and I know that with Him our lives have a hopeful undertone (peep the twenty one pilots lyrics).

So please enjoy the multiple posts of my life, and how God plays a part in it.

Unashamed,

Alexandria Isais

|-/

 

Leave a Reply

