Conviction is a beautiful thing

I’ll be the first to admit that in the past, I’ve chosen to ignore my conviction in certain circumstances where I know that I am doing wrong. I will also be the first to say that my conviction always wins over my will power to ignore it. And for that, I am incredibly thankful.

If it weren’t for conviction, we would all be involved in a lot of messed up junk. My conviction used to be one of the only things that kept me from engaging in awful actions. Now my conviction has lead me to live in a right frame of mind to where I have more reasons than just my conviction not to do things.

A group of my friends and I were talking about certain members of our church group who can go out and party and get hammered and have premarital sex and then show up to church on Sunday and not feel guilty. We all said the same thing: they do it because they don’t have conviction. Maybe they did at one point, maybe they still do, but the bottom line is that they are allowing themselves to get past the conviction that God provides them with.

I believe that someone can lose their conviction in certain areas of their life. For example, one person could have strong conviction when it came to drugs or alcohol, but no present conviction when it comes to sex. This is because Satan feeds them lies that make them feel better about themselves when ignoring the conviction when having sex. And this often happens to stagnant Christians not growing in their faith. They can’t resist the temptation and power of evil, so they give into it and it becomes a dark part of their life.

This is why we need to continue to grow in our faith! We can’t allow ourselves to stay stagnant, because that’s when the devil will creep in and manipulate us. So live on in steadfast faith and grow! And do NOT ignore your conviction! It is a gift given to us by God.

Leave a Reply

