Almost Everything – Wakey! Wakey!

I’m usually not one to put a song on repeat, because I have the tendency to get sick of songs if they become overplayed. However that’s not the case with Almost Everything. It’s been on repeat for the past three days, alternating here and there with some Relient K and twenty one pilots, but still it’s becoming quite overplayed. Yet I am still not tired of the song, and the rest of the album along with it.

Generally if I’m a fan of a song, I give the rest of the album a listen. If I’m a fan of the album, I give the rest of the artist a listen. That’s how I make my discoveries. And that’s how I made this one. While I would love to go into depth on how great Wakey Wakey’s music is on the whole level, I do want to focus in on just Almost Everything.

You see, when I first heard the song on One Tree Hill (don’t hate, wonderful show, 10/10 would recommend), my first thought was that the music producer of the show was phenomenal at his job. It was the perfect song for that scene, and it was mixed perfectly in between all of the chaos happening on screen. Then I really started listening to the lyrics, and that’s when I fell in love, just like that quote: slow at first and then all at once.

Just lay down with me before you go
It’s the wrong thing I know
But I don’t know when I will see you again
And it gets so lonely
You’d be be foolish if you stayed here now
Maybe if you leave we can work it out
Cause I know the city only breaks you down
And it gets you lonely
Yeah, it’s gonna get lonely
You miss the feeling when you step outside
And then your mind comes all untied
And then you open up your eyes
And you don’t feel lonely
And it feels bad now but it’s gonna get better
Someday
And it feels bad now but it’s gonna get better
And it feels bad now but it’s gonna get better
And it feels bad now but it’s gonna get better
And it feels bad now but it’s gonna get better
SomedayYeah, Someday

And it feels bad now but it’s gonna get better
And it feels bad now but it’s gonna get better
And it feels bad now but it’s gonna get better
And it feels bad now but it’s gonna get better
Someday

Something about the repetition of “It feels bad now but it’s gonna get better” makes it so believable, and makes it so encouraging. I’ve sent the link to almost all of my friends for them to listen to. I’ve referred to it as an anthem, a banger, and the song for them to listen to when they’re having a great day and when they’re having a bad day.

So give it a listen.
Leave a Reply

