Yeah, I’m “happy” being single

I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again, I am beyond happy in my singleness and being independent. Being single isn’t a bad thing, and being in a relationship isn’t something that needs to happen in order to become more happy!

That’s not to say that my happiness couldn’t be maximized with someone who has also found happiness within themselves. It’s not like I go to events looking for the perfect guy, or I’m expecting for Mr. Right to fall into view. However if a wonderful man who loved God with all his heart, shared my political views, and at least had some respect for twenty one pilots (yes that’s actually pretty important to me), came into my life and expressed interest, I definitely wouldn’t complain.

The last time I was in a relationship was in high school. It was kind of serious, as serious as a high school relationship can be. However it ended in a very messy way, and along the lines some messy things happened. So the fact that I’m even ready to be in a relationship again is kind of a big deal, then again I’ve been ready for quite some time. I keep having to remind myself that I have plenty of time and that God has someone out there for me. But sometimes, with the stress of college and the constant reminder of couples surrounding me and all the talk of literally all of my friends being in relationships, it’s hard to keep sight of things.

I’ve found myself becoming attracted to men who I wouldn’t have been attracted to a few months ago. Men who use profanity when they speak or don’t even like twenty one pilots, in fact hate them (I know, *gasp*). In these moments, after times of prayer, I find that I’m starting to settle. While none of these men have even shown interest, I shouldn’t even allow myself to entertain the thought of being with them. I know what I’m worth, and if I settle for anything less than what I’m worth, it would be like selling a brand new car to a man on the side walk for $10.

I’m still happy with myself, with my independence, and with my personal growth in my spiritual relationship with Christ. But after going through the things I’ve gone through, the fact that I’m ready for a relationship is a really big deal. I suppose I’m just frustrated that I’ve been ready for quite some time now, despite all the messy things I’ve been through, and I’m nowhere close to going on dates or being pursued in the slightest. It’s not to say that I’m actively looking. Like I said, it’s not like I attend events thinking that my next boyfriend will be sitting around the corner.  But it would be refreshing every once in a while to find a nice man who loves God, twenty one pilots, and shares my political values, even if he just makes a nice addition to my friend collection.

2 Corinthians 6:14 Do not be unequally yoked with unbelievers. For what partnership has righteousness with lawlessness? Or what fellowship has light with darkness?

Reflecting on this verse, I realized that it’s more than the similar interests. It’s about being equally yolked. It’s about having someone who is strong in their relationship with Christ as well. Often times we see women being led by the man. For me, I know that I would want to have a man who is a strong spiritual leader, but that wouldn’t mean he is spiritually strong than me. We would be equally yolked, but his spiritual gifts and influences would help me in my life, and mine in his.

Leave a Reply

