The Human Condition

Jon Bellion has always been a great artist, a favorite of mine. But lately I’ve been paying special attention to his latest album The Human Condition. I’ve listened to it since it’s release, but those were casual listens.

Lately I’ve really been getting into it, and I want to highlight some of my favorite songs and favorite lyrics from those songs. For the sake of this being short and sweet, I’m not including every single song, but that doesn’t mean that every song isn’t absolutely amazing.

*in order of album appearance, rank will appear at end*

1. He Is The Same: Wow I love the concept of this one. It starts off with what sounds like a heart monitor, which is a really cool time-keeper to have in modern music. (RANK 6)

“Nothing has changed. He is the same “

“Lost his dad that day, really puts into perspective what that **** a bad day”

2. 80’s Films: This song is just super fun and catchy and just altogether a banger.(RANK 4) 

“The mornings on its way to sunrise”

“No more missed time, we fly by street signs”

3. All Time Low: This is the more popular song of his, it’s really great and I’ve listened to it a lot more off the album. (RANK 5)

“I’ve been trying to fix my pride but that things broken”

“Lie- I try to hide but know you know it – that I’m at an all time low”

4. New York Soul (Pt. II): The following lyric is pretty great. (RANK 8)

“Tell ’em money is not the key to wealth

Cause if it can stop the pain How the **** did you explain a

bunch of millionaires that killed themselves?”

5. Maybe IDK : Okay this is my absolutely favorite song on the album in terms of lyrics and everything in between. It captures a beautiful message and I’m a huge fan of it. (RANK 1) 

“I wonder why I say yes to everyone in my life

I wonder why I can’t run that fast in my dreams

I wonder why I miss everyone and I still don’t call”

“Although I guess if I knew tomorrow

I guess I wouldn’t need faith

I guess if I never fell, I guess I wouldn’t need grace

I guess if I knew His plans, I guess He wouldn’t be God”

“So maybe I don’t know. But maybe that’s okay”

6. Overwhelming: what a romantic song (RANK 7) 

“They say we annoying, they just jealous cause we got love”

“There is a potion in your lips, so sweet, I’d die

There is an ocean in your hips, so deep, I’d dive

I hear an opus when we kiss that completes my life”

7. The Weight of the World: This is an intriguing song and I think these lyrics can speak to that. (RANK 9)

“ We’re six feet underground inside my bed

And all the little letters in my head

We’re spelling suicide but not by choice

Was calling out for help, but heard no noise, no noise

Only the sound of my back breaking

But ever since you and your arms saved me

I don’t hold the weight of the world anymore”

8. The Good In Me: The imagery in this song is absolutely amazing (RANK  10) 

“My foundation rumbles and all my morals crumble

My father’s warnings run through my head”

“Your heart’s a vine that I’ve bled trying to climb”

9. This Morning in America: This is also a banger like 80s Films, but it’s really great and the message is a lot deeper. (RANK 3) 

“I’ve been trying to keep up with all of these great expectations

So I keep on faking”

“We’re secretly out of control, nobody knows it”

“We’re secretly out of control… and everyone knows”

10. Guillotine:DANG THIS ONES A BANGER (RANK 2)

“The secrets you tell me I’ll take to my grave

There’s bones in my closet, but you hang stuff anyway”

11. Hands of God: *cue tears* (RANK 11 ) 

“I am just a man, I am just a man

Who lusts, gives, tries

Sometimes I lose my way”

“Tears at a funeral, tears at a funeral, I might break

Angry at all the things, angry at all the things I can’t change

When you’re lost in the universe, lost in the universe

Don’t lose faith” 

Leave a Reply

