It’s Great FSUUF

I spent the past weekend with gators.

*gasp*

I know. It’s surprising and unexpected, but that’s not even the weirdest part.

I spent the weekend with gators and I actually really enjoyed it.

*GASP*

I will admit that I wasn’t all too excited to mingle at first, but once we warmed up to each other, we realized that we were more alike than different. The only real thing that set us apart from each other was our team colors; our rivalry.

I met some gators who are super passionate about Dance Marathon, super passionate just like me.

I met a gator who is in a sorority, just like me.

I met a gator who is in the marching band, just like me.

I met a gator who is a republican, just like me.

I met a gator who loves being an RA but gets overwhelmed but it all sometimes, just like me.

There’s so much more that I could say, but for the sake of trying to not sound too redundant, there were so many of them that were just like me in many different ways. I found myself saying “oh me too!” way more than I found myself realizing the ways we were different or the ways we opposed each other.

At the end of the weekend we were able to come together almost as one delegation, each appreciating each others university, congratulating each other as if we were one. FSU agreed to stand and cheer for UF if their program won, and UF agree to stand and cheer for FSU if our roll call video won.

The rivalry is great fun, and made for some great jokes, but at the end of the day we’re all humans and we’re more than the colors we wear. In our case, we were all RA’s and we all related to each other.

(don’t tell my brother, but I might apply to grad school there. Go gata)

Leave a Reply

